We Need Your Help

Listen Live

There are currently no events

Members Email
Use of Website Material:

Duplication of text, photos, or any other content on this website is prohibited without permission of BHFD. If you have questions, please contact our webmaster.






The Bedford Hills Fire District was established by the adoption of a resolution of the Bedford Town Board, with the approval of the State Comptroller. Fire district commissioners, known as the Board of Fire Commissioners, and a treasurer, manage the business of the District.


A fire district is a political subdivision of the State, and the Board of Fire Commissioners has the authority to tax property owners within the District in order to provide the funding necessary to protect the District.



The Commissioners


Commissioners are elected by the voting residents of the fire district. Our Board of Fire Commissioners is currently comprised as follows:


Dominick N. Bueti

Howard Stern

 Dominic A. Bueti

Joseph J. Lombardo III

Susan A.R. Welch


Diane Bancroft serves as Secretary and Barbara Guest serves as Treasurer to the District. We generally meet on the second Monday of each month at 7:30 pm and our meetings are open to the public.


Duties of the Commissioners


The District owns and maintains the buildings and equipment. The Commissioners have exclusive management and control of the property of the District, and may purchase or lease real estate and equipment and may sell or otherwise dispose of such property of the District. In certain cases, due to statutory dollar limitations, a public referendum may be required to either purchase or dispose of District property.


Historically, we purchase insurance for the members and the equipment, and provide the LOSAP pension program and other benefits to the members.


The Commissioners can adopt rules and regulations governing the Fire Department, prescribe the duties of the members, and enforce discipline. We also approve new members and the firematic and social officers of the Department, and can remove such members for cause.


The Commissioners audit all claims against the District and approve or disapprove payment of those claims by the District Treasurer. We also develop the annual budget, which in recent years has been in excess of $900,000. Our annual budget is submitted to the Town of Bedford and is collected for us as a component of the Town property tax levy.


For additional information regarding the Bedford Hills Fire District and the Board of Fire Commissioners, please contact Secretary Diane Bancroft at

2018 Incidents
Jan 42
Feb 38
Mar 88
Apr 17
May 0
Jun 0
Jul 0
Aug 0
Sep 0
Oct 0
Nov 0
Dec 0
Total 185

Incident Total
2017 482
2016 432
2015 402
2014 428
2013 374
2012 471
2011 471
2010 323
2009 310

Web Counters
Website Visitors
October 4, 2004
Visitors Today
Apr 21, 2018
Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
Bedford Hills Fire Department
332 Bedford Road
Bedford Hills, New York, 10507

Emergency Dial 911
General: 914-666-8253
Chief: 914-666-4112
Copyright © 2018 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)